Disable UAC, the warning when opening programs

UAC Windows UAC it is a very important security feature in Windows systems. This setting has been present since Windows 7, basically, prevents malicious software from running on your PC, not certified by Microsoft.

Before Windows 7 this security mechanism was absent so a malware could run automatically without restrictions causing damage to the PC. With Windows 10 whenever you run an executable file (.EXE) or any program installed that changes the PC settings, a authorization notice (“Do you want to allow this app to make changes to the device?“) where the user can allow or deny that program to move forward.

For safety, we recommend that you always keep this security check active on all Windows PCs, as it can stop malicious software from running. On some PCs it may be necessary to temporarily disable the authorization window in order to test the system. Let’s see together how to disable UAC and how to restore correct operation at the end of the tests.

READ ALSO: Windows permissions guide

Preliminary information

Underlying this check is the fact that Windows is configured so that the main user does not have administrator privileges. This fact is not wrong because, in fact, on Windows XP, when you create a new user, they are administrator (unless you manually restrict them) and can do everything.

By reading our article we will be able to better understand the benefits of a security check and how these types of controls only apply to system administrators or users with administrative powers (such as those that Windows 10 creates by default).

How to disable UAC on Windows

To manage the UAC notification options on the Windows 10 system and control every software execution by preventing malicious ones from activating themselves, press the bottom left on the Start menu, search and start the program Control Panel, let’s be sure to set it up with the view Categories, then press on User Account, select the menu again User Account and finally we press on the item Change the User Account Control settings.
UAC In the window that opens on the screen, we can choose between four security levels:

  • Always notify: the tighter control option (slide all the way up), which affects not only running programs and software, but also changing Windows settings.
  • Notify me only when an app tries to make changes on your computer: is the default setting recommended by Microsoft, which achieves a good compromise between functionality and system security.
  • Notification only when an app tries to make changes on your computer: option similar to the previous one with the difference the desktop remains usable when the warning appears (with the default option the desktop is blocked until the response).
  • No notification: the last option (slide all the way down) is the one that disables user account control and no longer displays authorization warnings for program execution.

As mentioned in the introduction, we use the least restrictive settings or disable UAC entirely only if you are sure you are running known programs and if you never download anything from the internet (which is quite unlikely).

The procedure is also valid on Windows 8.1 and Windows 7, which actually have the same menus and buttons; on old versions of Windows we can also search for the word UAC in the Start menu, so as to immediately display the items for editing the UAC.

If after deactivating UAC warning messages appear continuously to reactivate it, we can remove this annoying warning by opening the program again Control Panel, taking us on the path System and security -> Security and maintenance, we press side up Change security and maintenance settings and remove the check mark from the item User Account Control.

Differences between UAC and SmartScreen filter

UAC control and program execution warning works differently than the Smartscreen filter, a another security tool that checks for malicious apps you download via the browser. The two security programs are therefore not the same thing, but they can work together to better protect any computer.

If we want to remove this level of security as well, just follow the guide on how to disable Smartscreen, so as to recreate a perfect PC to be infected with any virus on the network.

How to disable UAC as an administrator

On PCs with company administrative accounts or separate from the user account, UAC can only be disabled by entering the administrator password, an additional security system to prevent employees from installing unauthorized programs.

To disable the password request for UAC you need to open the registry key editor. To perform this change as an administrator, type regedit in the Start menu, press on it with the right button and select Run as administrator.

Once inside the registry editor, let’s go to the path indicated below:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionPoliciesSystem

Once you have identified the right item, let’s move to the right side of the program, we find the item ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin and set it as a new numeric parameter 0. To activate the password request we can set the value 1, while to return to the default settings of the UAC we will have to set the value 5.

Conclusions

Windows software running protection UAC is one of the most important security measures in the system, without which any malicious software could take over your computer and cause serious problems.

If we really want to make changes to this system we advise you to set Notification only when an app tries to make changes on your computer, so as to be notified if a program wants to make changes but without blocking the use of the computerwhile still leaving the desktop and open applications usable.

Fortunately, many have appeared over the years additional security systems for Windows 10, which have made it much safer to use Windows in any environment.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here