WhatsApp is fast turning into a complete instant messaging platform for various uses. In addition to offering great tools for personal conversations, such as the ability to personalize communications with GIFs, emojis and stickers, there are others that make it easier and more immediate to exchange messages between professionals and colleagues. The ability to share the screen, a feature coming to the app, will be an advantage for the latter.
Thanks to the new introductions conversations will always be clearer and the risk of misunderstandings will be minimized. Screen sharing will allow an improvement in the user experience, making WhatsApp an increasingly competitive solution compared to other instant messaging platforms.
Screen sharing on WhatsApp, all the details
Screen sharing will be released first on WhatsApp for Android devices in the future. At the moment it is about a feature under testing which can only be accessed by a few lucky users who have downloaded and are using the latest beta version of the app.
The function will allow you to share your screen during a call or video call. This means that the user you are chatting with will be able to see in real time what is on the screen of their device. It is an extremely useful option for those who use WhatsApp for business or educational purposes, as in this way they will be able to show presentations, multimedia elements and documents.
The function can also be used in calls between multiple users, but, at least for the moment, in large groups this could cause connection problems, slowdowns and have suboptimal performance. The developers are working to overcome some limitations. For example, sharing may not be possible if your interlocutor is using an outdated version of WhatsApp.
WhatsApp, how screen sharing works
The screen can be shared during the calls and video calls made through the application service officer. In the call control menu an icon will be added. Tapping it starts screen sharing with the recipient.
Before you can show your screen, consent must be given to share the content on your device with the recipients of the call. Without it it will be impossible to proceed.
Once the screen is shared, the interlocutor sees everything that happens on their device. You have full control over the functionsince sharing can be stopped at any time it deems appropriate.
To know more: Guide to WhatsApp: How to use and install WhatsApp