While this may seem easy, whatever the reason for wanting to cancel an account, you really need to make sure you do it well and by following certain steps, not just to prevent your face from appearing in internal search engines yet, but also to make it so that your data is not stored on Facebook servers.
Since there are so many who have decided to give up Facebook because of the numerous privacy problems that put personal data into public, let’s see how to cancel the Facebook account correctly and completely, especially if it has been used for a long time, you need to follow the following steps.
READ ALSO: How to delete the Facebook profile and cancel the account
Note that according to Facebook, deleting the account means not being able to reactivate it.
Profile, photos, posts, videos and everything that has been published will be permanently deleted and can no longer be recovered.
You will not be able to use Facebook Messenger, nor will you be able to access other apps or sites using that Facebook account.
Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to them after you delete the account.
Copies of sent messages are saved in friends’ inboxes.
1) Backup your data
The first step before deleting the Facebook account is to create a backup of all the data and download it to your computer.
This will allow you to keep status updates, photos, videos, messages, friends list and everything that has been done on Facebook since the registration.
To download the entire Facebook profile on PC, you need to log in to Settings> Information on Facebook and select the option Download personal information.
2) Log out of the apps that use our Facebook account
The next important step is to disconnect third-party apps for which Facebook has been used.
For example, an app like Spotify is likely to use the Facebook account.
To disconnect third-party apps, you need to go to Settings> Apps and websites to view the list of apps.
Select the apps to disconnect (if we delete the account select them all) and press the “button remove”.
It should, however, be noted that the data in these apps remain, so it would then be appropriate to go to each and register or log in with an email address.
You may need to contact the apps to recover these accounts.
3) Deactivate the account
If you are still not sure if you want to delete your Facebook account forever, you can deactivate the account (Account -> Settings -> Disable account).
Deactivation leaves everything intact: information, friends, photos and so on.
With a disabled account, it is still possible to be invited to events and receive notifications.
In essence, the profile page is hidden for a while, without eliminating anything.
In another article, it is explained in detail what it means to deactivate Facebook.
4) Cancel the account
All you have to do to unsubscribe from Facebook is to click this link which leads to the account settings, to the “section your information on Facebook“.
From this page, find “Delete your account and information” and continue with the guided procedure which, in fact, will ask God to back up the profile and disable all external applications.
At this point, you will no longer have to try to access the account for 90 days, which is the time it takes Facebook to remove all data from its servers.
After that, your account is gone forever, and so is all your data, hopefully.
If this rule is followed, the account will be permanently deleted, otherwise, it will only remain deactivated.
You will then have to reactivate Facebook and proceed step by step through the cancellation process.
In This Page, there are instructions to close the Facebook account, which are the same as shown here.
Before unsubscribing from Facebook should be summarized all the steps to watch out for:
– Disconnect from all devices that have had access to Facebook (from Settings> Protection and access).
– Delete all passwords for apps created on Facebook.
– Manually delete all posts published on Facebook, using an extension like Social Book Post Manager to do more quickly (although it could be really impossible to delete everything if you have been registered for years).
– Delete the location history (three-point icon in the upper right corner).
– Delete all contacts loaded from the Facebook app (from this link)
– Delete all account payment information (including credit cards) that may be used to purchase advertising.
– Remove phone numbers and all personal profile information.
– If you are an administrator of Fan or group pages, make sure you have appointed two other trusted administrators to manage those pages that otherwise would remain without any management or even delete pages.
– If you really want to make sure that Facebook no longer appears on any other site, you can install the extension Disconnect for the browser Google Chrome which prevents the display of the Facebook “like” boxes.
To further justify this guide it is interesting to note some statistics that show a certain disaffection with Facebook.
According to the Pew Research Center, with an interview with 4,594 US adults between May 29 and June 11, 2018, it was found that in the last 12 months, 54% have adjusted their privacy settings, 42% put the account paused from and 26% canceled the Facebook app altogether.
Overall, 74% of Facebook users took at least one of these actions.